Top Ten Books From My Childhood/Teen Years That I Would Love To Revisit

24 Mar

842e0-toptentuesday

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday challenge from The Broke and The Bookish is to list ten books from your childhood and teen years which you would like to revisit. This was a tough challenge for me because I spent most of my time reading until I hit university and found that juggling work and a social life left less time for books.But eventually I narrowed it down, and now I just want to ignore my giant TBR pile and re-read all of my childhood favourites.

  1. The Worst Witch series (Jill Murphy). I think this was the first series I was ever truly obsessed with. I even dressed up as Miss Hardbroom for World Book Day at school when I was about 7. If I had had access to fandom at the time, I would definitely have been involved.
  2. Malory Towers series (Enid Blyton). I loved all the Enid Blyton books, but it was Malory Towers that I kept re-reading. It’s these books that keep me wishing I’d been to boarding school even if common sense tells me I would have hated it.
  3. The Exiles (Hilary McKay). If Malory Towers made me want to go to boarding school, then The Exiles made me wish for a big family. There were several books in the series, but I liked The Exiles at Home the best.
  4. Sweet Valley series (Francine Pascal). To continue the theme, the Sweet Valley books made me want to be a twin (perhaps the least attainable of my childhood goals). There were so many books that I never read the entire series, just whatever I could find in libraries and at car boot sales.
  5. The Saddle Club series (Bonnie Bryant). Breaking from the theme, I did actually have riding lessons, and friends at the stables where I rode, although I never actually formed a club. But The Saddle Club only made me more pony mad.
  6. When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit (Judith Kerr). This is cheating slightly, as I actually re-read it last month, but I’d happily re-read it again and would now like to finally read the other two books in the trilogy.
  7. Stravaganza series (Mary Hoffman). In looking up this alternative time travel series for this blog post I’ve discovered that I actually missed the last three books, so those are going straight on my TBR pile.
  8. Wicca series (Cate Tiernan). These were the first books which I properly raved about with a group of friends (and along with the L. J. Smith books, which also deserve an honourable mention, inspired a wicca/goth phase in my friendship group as well as an unhealthy addiction to Diet Coke in my then best friend). They’ll always hold a special place in my heart for this reason, but I’ve only read the whole series through once, which is unusual for me, so I’d like to return to them if I have time.
  9. Jean Plaidy books. This was my first real foray into historical fiction, and although I think re-reading them might make me realise how dated they are (I was reading my mum’s copies from her teenage years), I’d especially like to revisit the Tudor era novels.
  10. Marian Keyes books. These aren’t children’s or even young adult novels, but I discovered Marian Keyes in my teenage years and devoured everything she had written so far between the ages of 13 and 14. I’m still in love with her writing now, but would like to go back and revisit some of the earlier works.
One Response to “Top Ten Books From My Childhood/Teen Years That I Would Love To Revisit”

  1. caitlinstern March 25, 2015 at 3:31 am #

    I remember the Sweet Valley books, but not whether or not I liked them. Which probably means I found them okay.

Leave a Reply

