Travelling

2 Feb

Today I read this comic on The Oatmeal. It did amuse me, but it also made me sad, because I started thinking about travelling.

I haven’t been out of the country since September. This may not seem particularly unusual, but between September 2010 and September 2011:

  • I went on fourteen flights.
  • I visited eleven countries.
  • I travelled on six overnight trains.
  • I learnt to call three different countries home.

At the time, I didn’t realise how lucky I was, but now I miss it. I miss the freedom to go wherever I want, whenever I want. I miss the cheap train fares. I miss having the rest of Europe on my doorstep. In short, I miss being on my Year Abroad. I still hope that I can incorporate travel into my career, and be paid to write about my worldwide travels, but I realise that there is only a slim chance of my dreams becoming reality. And so, tonight, I am nostalgic. And if anyone is reading this who is currently on their Year Abroad, make the most of it! It slips away far too fast!

One Response to “Travelling”

  1. Writing Jobs February 3, 2012 at 4:54 am #

    Thanks for sharing this post. Very nice job. Blogging can be very relaxing.

    Writers Wanted

Leave a Reply

