This Week

22 Jan

(I was in a very strange mood when I wrote this. For this I apologise.)

To say the least, this week has been insane.

I have moved into the keep of an eleventh-century castle, spent far too many hours staring out at the amazing view, and discovered that having an incredible room is just the incentive I need to actually clear up after myself.

I have attended lectures for the first time in a month, met my dissertation supervisor for the first time ever, and been reassured that I do have a hope in hell of graduating with a 2.1. I am more relieved about that than words can express.

I have eaten sushi, sambuca jellies, and the edible parts of college dinners (supplemented with Maryland cookies on the nights when the inedible outweighed the edible).

I have pulled muscles, had blood drawn, and nearly exsanguinated myself with a razor (entirely by accident, I might add).

I have seen old friends, reestablished old routines, and started one new activity.

I have returned to university, almost for the last time. I’m still not sure if I’m ready for it to end or desperate for it not to.

3 Responses to “This Week”

  1. Red Dirt Kelly January 22, 2012 at 10:44 pm #

    I am truly intrigued. The keep of an 11th century castle? The view?

    If I had that shirt/dress/jacket, I would have taken more than four photos.

    I’m a ph.d. student and am taking my last class this semester. Reading this post was like breathing oxygen.

    That is all…

    • julieffisher January 22, 2012 at 11:13 pm #

      Thank you for the lovely comment!

      The castle is Durham Castle, in the north east of England, and since the mid-19th century it has been a hall of residence for Durham University students. I’ll be posting photos soon.

      It’s a jacket, and I do have more photos of me in it, those four just worked best in the banner.

  2. Dawn Storey January 23, 2012 at 12:54 am #

    The castle and view sound amazing. What a week!

Leave a Reply

