Nightgale Challenge Week Three: The Churchyard

19 Jan

January 19th – PROMPT To Die and become one with Nature

Keats – “Darkling I listen, for many a time, I have been half in love with easeful Death, Call’d him soft names in many a mused rhyme, To take into the air my quiet breath; Now more than ever seems it rich to die;”(Ode To A Nightingale)

(For the  first two installments in this mini-series, see A Cure For Death and Dinnertime Conversation).


The Churchyard 

A few weeks pass, and Elisabeth doesn’t mention her musings on death. I even start to think that she may have lost interest in it, out of character though that would be. And then I find her in the churchyard.

There is a large tree there, opposite the patch of earth where they buried Old Man Johnson just three weeks ago, and she is seated under it. There is a notebook in her lap, but she isn’t writing in it, and she flips it shut as I approach.

“Hiding your secrets?” I ask, half-teasing, half-wistful, and receive nothing but a smile in response, as she strokes the soft leather of the cover.

“What are you doing here?” I try a different line of enquiry, unsure as to whether I actually want a response, but unable to stop myself from searching for one.

“Thinking about the bodies.” She replies softly. “They become a part of the ground, and plants grow up from the ground. The same plant on every grave. Isn’t that interesting?”

It is interesting, and, I notice as I look around the graveyard, absolutely true. The same plant on every grave. What are the chances of that?

6 Responses to “Nightgale Challenge Week Three: The Churchyard”

  1. Writing Jobs January 19, 2012 at 5:31 am #

    This was an excellent post. I enjoy reading your blog very much.

    Love Writing? Join Us Today – Writers Wanted

  2. Charles W. Jones January 20, 2012 at 9:19 pm #

    I’m curious as to what plant is growing on every grave. I like the theme you’ve continued through the now three stories.

  3. Margaret @charitygirlblog January 21, 2012 at 6:57 pm #

    Really really like this. The set up seems so simple and yet the touch about the flowers is subtlely sinister. Is it part of a longer series? I hope so!

    • julieffisher January 21, 2012 at 8:43 pm #

      Thank you! Yes, the first two installments can be found under this tag and part four is coming on Thursday, although I may be tempted to continue it even further!

  4. David A Ludwig January 25, 2012 at 6:34 am #

    My first thought on the same plant growing on every grave is; grass. It could quite literally be the SAME PLANT given the amount of ground covered by a single grass plant. Still, the way it’s presented is very thought provoking.

    “Hiding your secrets?” is my favorite line because I feel is says so much about both characters and their relationship. Half-teasing, half-wistful. Those concealed pages can’t help the narrator understand Elisabeth, but there is some fundamental thing missing just like in Elisabeth’s search for a cure for death.

    I especially like Old Man Johnson coming back in this one, did not see that coming.

Leave a Reply

