Book Review: I Heart New York (Lindsey Kelk)

16 Jan

Image: Waterstones

I came across I Heart New York by accident, at a How to Get Published event held by Marie Claire. Lindsey Kelk, the author, spoke at the event, and at the end I queued with the rest of the excitable twenty-somethings to get my free copy of the book signed, then promptly abandoned it on my bookshelf for the next six months.  When I finally picked it up last week I realised what I had been missing out on: an escapist romp in a fabulous setting, which left me happy but with the sudden desire to buy myself a complete new wardrobe!

Believable, it is not particularly, as the story starts with the heroine catching the first flight to New York after catching her fiancé cheating on her.  But despite the slightly unrealistic situation (perhaps there are women who take such drastic measures after a break-up, but I doubt that there are many), it was easy to relate to the characters. Taking centre stage alongside Angela is her new BFF Jenny Lopez (yes, really), whose plans for the future involve meeting Oprah, getting a job with Oprah, and gradually usurping Oprah in the hearts and minds of the nation. There are also love interests to help her get over her scumbag of an ex: smooth-talking Tyler, a Wall Street banker; and skinny indie boy Alex, lead singer of one of Angela’s favourite bands. And best of all she gets a job blogging for the website of a trendy New York magazine, meaning that for me she was literally living the dream.

In my opinion though, the best part of this book is its stunning New York setting, and the references throughout are tantalising. It took a lot of willpower, on finishing, not to book myself on the first flight out there! I did feel a little flat at the end of the book though; it seeming to end too suddenly, the loose ends tying up just a little too easily. This was a pity, as it detracted from a story which had kept me hooked up until that point. However, I very much enjoyed Kelk’s writing style, and look forward to reading the rest of the books in the ‘I Heart…’ series.

For more about the author, visit: http://www.iheartlindseykelk.com/.

2 Responses to “Book Review: I Heart New York (Lindsey Kelk)”

  1. sapphy03 January 16, 2012 at 10:05 am #

    The title seems very interesting. And the story, albeit a bit too unrealistic seems like fun to read! But I guess, if movies are made of this novel, that would be more fun to watch!

    http://kitchenmixerreviews.org

    • julieffisher January 17, 2012 at 2:31 pm #

      No movie as of yet, but I agree that one would be fun!

Leave a Reply

