Update Ahoy!

9 Dec

It’s been a while since I updated you on my November writing fail, and I’m hoping that some of you might have been worrying where I’ve been. I realise that this may make me seem shallow and narcissistic, but as this blog is essentially the internet equivalent of a three year old jumping up and down in front of their mother screaming “PAY ME ATTENTION!!”, I guess I can live with that. (And now I’ve outed myself, you probably all thought that I was doing this for the sheer joy of writing. Go watch Scream 4, it’ll show you how the mind of teenage girls/twenty-something girls who think they’re teenagers works.)

Anyway, now that I’ve completely embarrassed myself, on to the excuses. Alongside trying to salvage my degree (that’s right, I am meant to be doing one of those), we have had a massive internet failure in my student accommodation. We’re still having it in fact, and thus this is being typed in the library. Yes, the library. On a Friday night. All the cool kids are doing it these days. Given that half my life is on the internet (work, student journalism, graduate friends), this is nothing short of a disaster for me, although it did help me to focus on reading for my essays at first. (Note the at first, after two days I discovered Minesweeper on my laptop.) Then, to add insult to injury, my laptop had an unfortunate collision with a glass of gin and tonic (turns out it isn’t as much of a fan of them as I am), and is now dead as the proverbial doornail. Suffice to say that December hasn’t really been my month…

The Christmas holidays start on Wednesday though, and as of next Saturday I will be at home with my parents’ internet, my parents’ computer and all the time in the world to blog (dissertation, what dissertation?). I may get another update to you before then, from my new second home of course, but if not I have a date with my keyboard next Saturday. Who knows, I may even write something special for it. Or I may just treat you to more keyboard vomit!

Leave a Reply

