NaBloPoMo Prompt Responses

7 Nov

As you probably know, I’m participating in both NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) and NaBloPoMo (National Blog Posting Month) this November, and for NaBloPoMo there are daily prompts to help get the creative juices flowing. Thus far, I haven’t needed to use these, but today I decided that I would go back and answer the writing-related ones. Personally, I love reading writers’ blogs, and find it interesting to read about how they approach the creative process. I hope that some of you will be interested in reading about me!

 

What is your favourite part about writing?

When it all comes together. By this, I don’t necessarily mean finishing a piece, whether that be finishing a draft or making the final edit. I mean those moments when the ideas are flowing, the words seem to fit together perfectly, and I remember why I want to make writing my career. Invariably, I will then read something by a much more accomplished writer and be plunged into a black pit of depression, but it’s those eureka moments which make me want to persevere.

 

Can you listen to music and write? What song did you listen to today?

It very much depends. Sometimes I can’t bear to sit in silence, sometimes silence is exactly what I need. What I listen to depends on my mood as well (it can also depend on what I’m writing, but generally it all hinges on my mood), but generally I listen to the same song over and over. I live in student accommodation, so this practice must drive my neighbours wild, but I have to do it because only if I know the song well enough will it be able to fade into the background. I generally listen to music with lyrics though, mostly because I’m not a huge fan of classical music, so I won’t tend to have any at hand. Today I haven’t been listening to music while writing, but I have had “Mrs Robinson” by Simon and Garfunkel on repeat for most of the day, so that would probably be my writing music of choice if I were to pick something.

 

When you are writing, do you prefer to use a pen or a computer?

Honestly, I prefer good old-fashioned pen and paper. I have a reporter’s notebook which I carry around everywhere with me, and especially when I’m on public transport I love scribbling away in it. However, that unfortunately isn’t very practical, especially with projects like NaNoWriMo, so with those I will usually type from the outset. Shorter fiction though, and even some of my blog posts, will start their life as biro scribbles in my little notebook.

Leave a Reply

