My (Possibly) Epic NaNoWriMo Live Blog

4 Nov

(NB: If you don’t know what the premise of this is, then scroll down the my last post or visit the challenge post on Let The Words Flow)

4th November

00:05: Midnight, yay! Time to start writing!

00:06: …or possibly to finish doing my seminar reading for tomorrow. Back in a bit!

00:14: Back to the internet to tweet about this challenge. MUST.DO.BETTER.

00:15: On the plus side, I only have ten pages to read, then I can dedicate my life to NaNo for a while.

00:42: Seminar reading done, time to start writing. I only hope that trade unions and the class system don’t start creeping into my novel!

00:44: I guess closing Facebook would be helpful…

00:51: Realise that someone has commented on this post. Squeal with delight. Writing abandoned once again.

00:57: 100 words in, I appear to have made up a word. Joy.

01:16: 600 words, I’m on a roll! Getting sleepy though…

01:34: 1000 words and fading fast. I think I’ll try to hit 1667 and then call it a night.

01:40: Start thinking about time-zones and the concept of today and tomorrow. Very interesting, but not helpful for my word count!

01:59: Just finished a major scene with 1400 words. Do I go on and try to hit 1667?

02:01: The parade of drunken students coming home from the clubs has just started passing my window. Guess that answers my question: if I’m not sleeping, then I may as well be writing!

02:03: Typing the words ‘Chapter 2’ into my Word document is genuinely the most exciting thing to have happened to me for a while!

02:09: What’s this? Kate Walsh has a new vlog up? Farewell, productivity!

02:32: Got a bit carried away with my last scene and am now at 1,938. Time to call it a night! *yawn*

11:30: Writing? Academic work? Writing? Academic work?

12:47: Ooooh, new episode of Private Practice?? MUST. WATCH.

16:03: I’m BACK!! One hour of procrastination and two of lectures down, and it’s time to tackle the word count!

16:04: Might just check out what the other LFTW bloggers are doing first though…

16:18: Holy crap, there are people in the US with higher word counts than me! *panics*

16:27: Hit 2000 words. Squeal with delight.

16:28: Realise that everyone in the computer room is now staring at me. Attempt to hide under the desk.

16:29: Note to self: Hiding under the desk is not a good way to stop people staring at you!

16:35: Think I might be overdoing the description in this particular scene. Fighting urge to delete…

16:55: The words are coming more slowly now than they were last night. Got up to 2269 though!

17:16: Time off from writing to discuss satanic parakeets with my friend on Facebook Chat. Wonder if I could get away with writing them into the novel…

17:34: Up to 2694 words now, and starting to wish that I’d set my target at 3000 so that I’d be closer to it!

17:36: Time for dinner now, will return to the word count later!

18:56: Eating pizza and watching Sabrina the Teenage Witch with my friend. Word count, what word count?

23:14: Pizza and Sabrina have turned into a night playing Articulate with friends. Unfortunately, this has had a detrimental effect on the live blogging. Have a NaNo meet-up tomorrow, so may be live blogging through that.

5th November

02:12: I know I’ve failed the challenge, but am going to try to hit 4000 before I go to bed, and will live blog while I’m doing it. Here goes…

02:27: Hit 3000 (actually nearly 3100). I really should have set my target lower…

02:28: Oooh, straw wrapper!

02:29: Playing with the straw wrapper has given me an idea for my next scene. Inspiration really does come from the strangest places!

02:46: 500 words to go, and shamelessly stealing ideas from Outnumbered. I have a feeling that this will become a running theme. (If anyone else knows of any shows with amusing children in, please let me know!)

03:04: Done! *victory dance* And, amazingly, I managed to finish a scene and a chapter at the same time as meeting my word count!


Challenge Set: 4,000 words

Final Word Count: 4,008 words

Overal NaNoWriMo Word Count: 7,755 words

 

20 Responses to “My (Possibly) Epic NaNoWriMo Live Blog”

  1. Heather Milton November 4, 2011 at 12:42 am #

    Good luck! I’m on UK time too *timezone fistbump* 😄

    • julieffisher November 4, 2011 at 12:52 am #

      We are the coolest of the time zones! Good luck to you too, I’ll check out your blog to see how you’re getting on!

  2. savannahjfoley November 4, 2011 at 1:27 am #

    600 words! I have the feeling I’m going to wake up tomorrow to intimidating word counts from everyone here, lol.

    • julieffisher November 4, 2011 at 1:39 am #

      Aww, it’s OK! You can produce your own intimidating word count tomorrow! (I’m now trying to wrap my head around the concept of it being today for me and tomorrow for you.)

  3. Kat Zhang November 4, 2011 at 1:49 am #

    I still have 3 hours to go!! Looking at you guys’ live blogs is making me all eager to start! 😀

    • julieffisher November 4, 2011 at 1:58 am #

      It’s exciting, isn’t it? I’m not sure that I’ll still be up in three hours, but I’ll stop by your blog when I wake up and see how you’re getting on!

  4. Kae November 4, 2011 at 4:43 am #

    Yaaaay! Drunken college students!
    I’m in my third year at residence. : ) Soo I, too, have found myself inspired to stay up at night due to a sudden burst of loud.

  5. Jessica Lewenda November 4, 2011 at 7:15 am #

    Oooh, good luck! Almost 2k done, that’s really great. Hope you get lots more writing done in the morning. 🙂

  6. savannahjfoley November 4, 2011 at 12:49 pm #

    Hehe don’t you love getting carried away?

  7. savannahjfoley November 4, 2011 at 2:14 pm #

    Noooo don’t get distracted!

  8. Asia Morela November 4, 2011 at 3:20 pm #

    Ha ha, your updates made me laugh! Keep going!

  9. savannahjfoley November 4, 2011 at 4:50 pm #

    Lol!! If you can write under the desk I say more power to ya!

    • julieffisher November 4, 2011 at 4:53 pm #

      It seems to limit access to the keyboard. Who’d have thought it?

  10. Kat Zhang November 4, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

    Hehe, ooh pizza. I don’t think I’ve seen Sabrina the Teenage Witch in like, a decade! Maybe I’m overestimating that, lol.

  11. kayleighskaleidoscope November 4, 2011 at 9:10 pm #

    I used to love watching Sabrina… *nostalgic sigh*

    Good luck!

  12. savannahjfoley November 4, 2011 at 9:21 pm #

    Come back to work! Some of us are finishing our goals over here!

    • julieffisher November 5, 2011 at 2:03 am #

      I know, I’m a dreadful person! *hangs head in shame* I should have set my target lower, then I might have achieved it…

  13. savannahjfoley November 5, 2011 at 2:17 am #

    We’ll still count it if you complete before going to bed. Go go go go go!!!!!

    • julieffisher November 5, 2011 at 3:18 am #

      I DID IT!! Time for victory dance, then sleep! Has been awesome doing this with all of you amazing people though!

  14. Kat Zhang November 5, 2011 at 3:33 am #

    Congratulations!!! 😀

Leave a Reply

