Fiction Friday – The Silence

6 Aug

This week’s prompt was: Your character walks into a room of people. Everything goes uncomfortably silent and all eyes narrow in on your character. Now keep writing.

And this is what I came up with:

As soon as the doors swing open, you feel the atmosphere change. The gay chatter of just a moment before instantly dissipates into muffled whispers. Heads are turning, people literally craning their necks to get a better look at you. It’s the type of attention that might have been flattering, had the occasion only been different.

Swallowing hard, smoothing down your suit, you force yourself to walk forwards. Although you’re no longer looking at the others, you can feel their eyes following your progress, hear their murmurs as loudly as if they were being shouted directly into your ears. For a moment you consider backing out, just turning on your heel and running, taking the shelter that those heavy oak doors are offering. The outcome would surely be the same.

But you don’t. Drawing in a deep breath, running your hands nervously over your suit for a second time, you take the final few steps. You place your hand on the proffered Bible and look up, facing the room.

“I promise to tell the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth, so help me God.” You proclaim.

You can do this.

You think.

6 Responses to “Fiction Friday – The Silence”

  1. jamilajamison August 6, 2011 at 2:16 am #

    Oooh, I like! I really am starting to love the idea of flash fiction. I’ve never written any myself, but I keep running across excellent pieces like this one that make me want to give it a try. 😀

    • julieffisher August 6, 2011 at 12:32 pm #

      Thanks Jamila! I would definitely recommend flash fiction, it’s fun and not too time consuming, but it keeps you writing regularly if you do something like Fiction Friday.

  2. Tim Remp August 6, 2011 at 3:46 pm #

    Excellent piece! I could feel the courtroom drama 🙂

    -Tim

  3. cailindresden August 7, 2011 at 8:38 am #

    Hey, I liked the writing style for the piece as I started reading it, it was drawing you in to the end. In the end though I saw what it was about and I loved it. I am a criminal justice major and love law.

    Here is my second Fiction Friday!
    http://www.iandscofield.com/?p=70

  4. rads August 8, 2011 at 1:00 pm #

    Nice description of the room! 🙂

    Here’s mine – cesmots.com/showstopper
    Hope you will be able to drop by!

  5. Brittany August 9, 2011 at 3:24 am #

    Oh I just loved this! I could feel the tension and was anxious to know what kind of room the person was walking into. Wonderful!

Leave a Reply

