Fiction Friday – Monopoly

29 Jul

This is my second Fiction Friday, it’s more of a moment than a short story really, I tend to have trouble structuring short stories into something that actually resembles a story. But anyway, the prompt was a picture of a clock and a die, and this is what I came up with:

“Roll the dice.” Laura urged. “C’mon, we’ve only got twenty minutes left.”

“Ninteen now.” Martin announced officiously, glancing at the blinking numbers on the digital clock. “So hurry up.”

“But I’m counting my money!” Sarah whined. “I want to know if I can afford to buy another house.”

“You can’t.” Martin cut her off. His iron was edging perilously close to her house-laden properties. One wrong move and he would be bankrupted.

“You just don’t want me to.” Sarah stuck out her tongue at her brother. “But I’m going to anyway!”

“Just hurry up!” Laura snapped. “We’re running out of time.” Her watch ticked its agreement.

Two rolls later and Sarah was doing a victory dance as Martin sulked in the corner. It wasn’t fair. He was much cleverer than her, the dice just hated him.

“Can we play Scrabble tomorrow?” He asked. Scrabble was a good game. He always won at it.

“Maybe.” Laura frowned. As the eldest, it was her job to control her warring younger siblings, and board games always led to arguments. “Or maybe we can just watch a film.”

“Oooh yes!” Sarah piped up. “The Little Mermaid!”

“We watched that last week, though.” Martin groaned. “I want to watch Harry Potter!”

Laura sighed. Sometimes she just couldn’t win.

One Response to “Fiction Friday – Monopoly”

  1. Jonathon Graham Knowles July 29, 2011 at 10:33 pm #

    I want to know what happens next.

Leave a Reply

